Villains Academy: How to win the Gruesome Games

Ryan Hammond

Once a year the five original founders of Villains Academy rise from their graves in honour of the Gruesome Games – a school sports day unlike any other, where the aim is to prank and cheat your way to the finish line. Werewolf Bram and his friends the Cereal Killers are determined to win so their names can be written in the Book of Bad, a record of the most wicked villains to grace the school. But as the games become harder and the pranks get out of hand, are Bram and his friends bad enough to go down as the most victorious villains in history?

This is the third and final book in the hilarious series by author-illustrator Ryan Hammond. Perfect for fans of Loki, Grimwood, Dog Man etc. The Cereal Killers are facing their biggest challenge at the Villains Academy – The Gruesome Games. To make matters worse, their parents will be there to watch. Can Bram pull off the prank of a lifetime in front of the founders? This is a tale of learning to accept yourself and find your place in the world.  Oh and be very wary of anyone who accidentally brushes your face…

We love the step by step guide to learn how to draw the main characters in the books. Looking forward to seeing what comes next from Ryan!

Published by Simon & Schuster, 2024 (256 pages)

Reviewed by Tash Hyde